Everybody knows this is nowhere

Photography from in and around Adelaide – Phill Hunt

Blake Andrews’ collector prints and gum

leave a comment »

A couple of weeks ago, Blake Andrews,  posted about Mike Mandel’s Photographer Baseball cards. As part of the post he made an offer to send 80 of his workprints and a stick of gum for the price of postage. 

I’ve been collecting photo books and prints lately and I like a bargain so I took him up on the offer.

They arrived yesterday and, as promised, they’re pretty interesting.  It’s not often you get to see the working prints of a more established photographer and to see the difference  between what he considers a keeper and a non-keeper. ( I’m basing this solely on what I’ve seen on iN-PUBLiC, B and his website, blakeandrewsphoto.com ).

It also gave me an insight into the sheer volume some of the more established photographers shoot. They shoot a lot.

(“more established” is now officially my antonym for “emerging”)

Below are three of my favourites from the series collection.  Beneath those is a scan of a list that was found on the back of an image and the stick of gum.  Although unclear in the scan, the first two items in the list appear to be “mow” and “unpack”.

As per all collectors series, I haven’t eaten the gum.

All images below are Blake Andrews’ images.

Notes and Gum

Written by Phill

November 17, 2010 at 9:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment